Welcome Levi Rietze

What a whirlwind it has been the past 2 weeks. Let’s give it up for all the moms and dads rocking multiple kids. It is a lot of work!

These past few weeks with newborn Levi have been more challenging than I expected. With newborn Parker we were in a cloud of sleepless bliss. Even though we were tired, we “slept when the baby slept” and found ourselves just sitting and staring at him multiple times a day. This time around with newborn Levi (and two year old Parker) there is no sleeping, period. Someone is always awake and needing attention. This state of pure exhaustion really does something to your brain! The combination of parenting a toddler, not sleeping, feeling mom-guilt for not spending enough time with Parker/Kevin/Levi, balancing the work-from-home life, and trying to “soak it all in” can really bring on a bout of anxiety.

Did anyone else feel this awkward tension between feeling so happy to have a second baby yet sad that you didn’t have just one anymore? Almost like this wave of nostalgia hits you and you crave all the moments you had just a few weeks/months prior when life was easy (hindsight is 20/20 haha) and all your energy was devoted to just one. All of the veteran moms I know have assured me that this feeling fades as your love for your second child continues to grow and I know deep-down that this is just a phase, but it is a strange feeling nonetheless and a contributing factor to the overall exhaustion.

God sure knew what he was doing when he designed motherhood. He must have known that us moms would struggle with the feelings of exhaustion, guilt, and anxiety, so he built in multiple times of rest a day (usually every 2 to 3 hours) with a loud, pressing reminder to sit down and be still… and feed your baby.  During these “resting” times, I have found that reading my Bible and going through different devotional plans have fed my soul and given me the peace and energy to get through my day. Some of the verses that I have highlighted this week are:

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever – Psalm 73:26

And whatever you do, whether in word of deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. – Colossians 3:17

Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. – Matthew 6:34

Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established. – Proverbs 16:3

I am so grateful for my two healthy children and our growing family. I hope to never take for granted what many long and pray for. Thank you Jesus for entrusting to me these beautiful babies to raise. Give me the patience and energy to teach them your ways and may my actions always point them to you.

Welcome to the family Levi! We love you!

Photos by Valentina Glidden Photography

babylevibyvalentinaglidden_79 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_86babylevibyvalentinaglidden_81 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_89babylevibyvalentinaglidden_46babylevibyvalentinaglidden_61 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_66 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_73 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_52 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_42 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_49 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_36 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_38 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_14 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_20 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_22 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_02 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_08 babylevibyvalentinaglidden_11SaveSaveSave

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

